+49 (0) 22 02 / 285 77 - 0 info@auto-institut.de

Scenarios of the market ramp-up for the year 2030

  • High sales momentum of electromobility in Europe and Germany in 2020 and 2021
  • For the year 2030, the share of new registrations of electric vehicles (EVs) in Europe can rise to up to 90 percent in the "Fast Scenario" under favorable conditions. In the "Moderate Scenario", an EV share of 75 percent is assumed, and in the "Slow Scenario", an EV share of 50 percent is assumed.
  • The key drivers are the regulatory and funding framework (especially climate protection targets), the development of battery prices and, above all, the density and quality of the charging infrastructure.

The global market dynamics of electromobility accelerated considerably in 2020 against the backdrop of a changed regulatory backdrop and more stringent climate protection targets. In this context, e-mobility is rising against the Corona-induced declining overall market trend. In 2020, a total of 11.9 million new passenger cars were registered in Europe (EU+EFTA+UK). This represents a decline of around 24 percent compared to 2019. In contrast, electric vehicle (BEV/PHEV) sales in the European market increased by almost 144 percent to a level of around 1.3 million vehicles. EVs (BEV+PHEV) have a new registration share of just under 11 percent in 2020. BEVs account for about 6 percent and PHEVs for about 5 percent. In the first half of 2021, this trend accelerated further with an EV new registration share of around 17 percent. In Germany, the market share of EVs after six months of 2021 is now 22.5 percent.

Against the backdrop of stricter climate protection regulations and already enacted registration bans for internal combustion vehicles in some countries, a further significant increase in the global EV market share is expected for the year 2030. Three scenarios were developed to estimate the EV market in Europe, which differ in terms of the speed of market ramp-up.

In the "Fast Scenario," which models a very dynamic EV market ramp-up, the EV market share in Europe rises to 90 percent in 2030. BEVs account for around 81 percent of total new passenger car registrations in Europe, while just under 9 percent would be plug-in hybrids. For the overall market in Europe, 15.5 million of the new registrations in 2030 - in all scenarios - are assumed. The EV market share of 90 percent thus results in absolute sales of around 14 million electric vehicles (EVs), comprising 12.6 million battery electric and 1.4 million plug-in hybrids.

These developments are primarily due to the ambitious regulatory requirements (CO2 fleet legislation), sharply falling battery prices and the very well developed charging infrastructure. As a result, the BEV/PHEV ratio among EVs is clearly moving in the direction of the more sustainable and less expensive battery electric vehicles. Consequently, the BEV/PHEV ratio among EVs in this scenario is 90:10 in favor of BEVs.

Further information on the study: https://auto-institut.de/e-mobility/

en_USEnglish

Szenarien des Markthochlaufs für das Jahr 2030

  • Hohe Absatzdynamik der Elektromobilität in Europa und in Deutschland im Jahr 2020 und 2021
  • Für das Jahr 2030 kann der Neuzulassungsanteil von Elektrofahrzeugen (EVs) in Europa unter günstigen Rahmenbedingungen im „Schnellen Szenario“ auf bis zu 90 Prozent steigen. Im Moderaten Szenario“ wird von einem EV-Anteil von 75 Prozent und im „Langsamen Szenario“ wird von einem EV-Anteil von 50 Prozent ausgegangen.
  • Zentrale Treiber sind die Regulations- und Förderkulissen (insbes. die Klimaschutzziele), die Batteriepreisentwicklung und vor allem die Dichte und Qualität der Ladeinfrastruktur.

Die globale Marktdynamik der Elektromobilität hat sich im Jahr 2020 vor dem Hintergrund veränderter Regulationskulissen und verschärfter Klimaschutzziele erheblich beschleunigt. Die E-Mobilität steigt dabei entgegen dem Corona-bedingten rückläufigen Gesamtmarkttrend. Im Jahr 2020 wurden in Europa (EU+EFTA+UK) insgesamt 11,9 Mio. Pkw neu zugelassen. Das entspricht einem Rückgang von rund 24 Prozent im Vergleich zum Jahr 2019. Im Gegensatz dazu ist der Elektrofahrzeugabsatz (BEV/PHEV) auf dem europäischen Markt um knapp 144 Prozent auf ein Niveau von etwa 1,3 Mio. Fahrzeugen gestiegen. Die EVs (BEV+PHEV) haben im Jahr 2020 einen Neuzulassungsanteil von knapp 11 Prozent. Rund 6 Prozent entfallen auf die BEVs und etwa 5 Prozent auf die PHEVs. Im ersten Halbjahr 2021 beschleunigte sich dieser Trend mit einem EV-Neuzulassungsanteil von rund 17 Prozent weiter. In Deutschland liegt der Marktanteil von E-Fahrzeugen nach sechs Monaten des Jahres 2021 nunmehr bei 22,5 Prozent.

Für das Jahr 2030 ist vor dem Hintergrund verschärfter Klimaschutzregeln und bereits erlassener Zulassungsverbote für Verbrenner in einigen Ländern mit einer weiteren deutlichen Erhöhung des globalen EV-Marktanteils zu rechnen. Zur Abschätzung des EV-Marktes in Europa wurden drei Szenarien entwickelt, die sich im Hinblick auf die Geschwindigkeit des Markthochlaufs unterscheiden.

Im „Schnellen Szenario“, das einen sehr dynamischen EV-Markthochlauf modelliert, steigt der EV-Marktanteil in Europa im Jahr 2030 auf 90 Prozent. Rund 81 Prozent der gesamten europäischen Pkw-Neuzulassungen entfallen auf BEV, knapp 9 Prozent wären Plug-In-Hybride.  Für den Gesamtmarkt in Europa wird für das Jahr 2030 – in allen Szenarien – von 15,5 Mio. der Neuzulassungen im Jahr 2030 ausgegangen. Durch den EV-Marktanteil von 90 Prozent resultiert somit ein absoluter Absatz von etwa 14 Mio. elektrischen Fahrzeugen (EVs), die sich aus 12,6 Mio. batterieelektrischen und 1,4 Mio. Plug-In-Hybriden zusammensetzen.

Diese Entwicklungen sind vor allem den ambitionierten regulatorischen Vorgaben (CO2-Flottengesetzgebung), stark sinkender Batteriepreise sowie der sehr gut ausgebauten Ladeinfrastruktur geschuldet. Daraus resultiert, dass sich das BEV-/PHEV-Verhältnis unter den EV in deutlich in Richtung der nachhaltigeren und kostengünstigeren batterieelektrischen Fahrzeuge entwickelt. Demzufolge liegt das BEV-/PHEV-Verhältnis unter den EVs in diesem Szenario bei 90:10 zugunsten der BEV.

Weitere Information zur Studie: https://auto-institut.de/e-mobility/

de_DEGerman